NAD 712 tuner - No FM

Hello-
I have a NAD 712 that won't tune FM
AM is fine, but when switched to FM, although it runs up and down the frequencies as shown on the LCD, it's not actually tuning any stations - just white noise...THE CENTER Tune illuminates when a strong AM station is pulled in - center Tune never illuminates when manually tuning or scanning FM...
On closer inspection, there's a tuning control voltage which comes from pin 17 of the LM7000.
This is fine on AM (2.1V) , but as soon as FM is selected, this disappears to zero volts and I can't see why.

Any assistance is very appreciated!

Oh, I should mention I am a COMPLETE NOVICE....so please keep that in mind if you reply :) also, I am armed only with a digital multimeter and a soldering iron, no scope....

Last edited:
Well you have identified the tuning voltage is wrong not changing. This could be that the LO in the tuner can IC702 is not working, it that is the case the hiss will be quieter than if its working. It may be no supply or there's a fault in the can. Its also possible the input filter is O/C too.

Check the 30V supply is present first, at R707 (or at C704) (page 17)

This is crucial for FM tuning.

31.9V at R707, is that OK?

Thanks everyone for your comments.

I found a Nad/tuner guy and he was very helpful but basically said it was not worth paying him to investigate/fix...that I should just buy a standalone tuner.
I probably will do that but I just wanted to poke around in case it was something obvious....

Has anybody worked on this (or a similar) Nad? I can’t even figure out how to get at the trace side...Taking bottom panel off still leaves tuner section inaccessible (as far as I can tell), maybe I better give up now :)

Voltage at R707 is 31.9. Is that OK?