LM833-N NAB Pre-amp Circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

Apologies in advance if this has been covered elsewhere. I couldn't find the info I'm looking for, so I figured I'd just go ahead and ask. I'm new to this forum though, so I hope I'm not violating etiquette here.

I have what I think may be one of those simple questions that turns out to not be all that simple. I'm building a small instrument that incorporates a variable speed portable cassette player with a tape loop — changing the speed of the motor changes the pitch of the loop. It's been done before. It occured to me that rather than using the cassette player's pre-amp, it might be worth building my own and connecting it directly to the play head in order to streamline the overall build. I have some experience building circuits, but I'm admittedly a beginner (so apologies if I sound like an idiot), and I've been made to understand that tape pre-amps in particular can be pretty fussy.

With that said, I've been snooping around for a relatively simple NAB (I think that's what I need?) tape pre-amp, and there's one on the LM833n datasheet that seems pretty straightforward. (The datasheet is here: https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm833-n.pdf and I've included an image of the schematic). I also happen to have a couple of these ICs lying around. So I'm wondering if anyone has had any luck using this circuit for a similar application (I couldn't find any documentation online of anyone building it) OR if someone who knows more about electronics can eyeball it and tell me if it seems like it would work.