Electric wiring Thorens 165, multi-meter use during reparation.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Accidentally I damaged a Thorens 165 record player. During repair of that part of the tone-arm I accidentally cut the wiring, so I had to rewire.

Also I wanted to swap the positon of the RCA-outlet of the backside so the channels would be in the same position of the amp. Now I had to desolder those RCA-plugs and resolder after swapping them from left to right, the red plug on the leftside (right audio channel), the black on the rightside (left audio channel, plug outlet on the rightside, as on my amp).
Now I am not a pro and I am learning to solder now but I want to controll the work before I can go further.
I don't want to do a lot to find out later that I made a mistake earlier on.

So I soldered these RCA-plugs after swapping their position in the wooden holes at the back. And now I want to be sure that this connection works with a Mulit-meter. One RCA plug ( I think the red one) gave a reading of 20 or more volts, the other hardly...again I am a rookie at this stuff, I want to learn. So is it normal or do I have to resolder the other plug? If I am doin' it wrong...please tell me cause this is all new for me.

I just want to be able to do this repair because of restoring a good recordplayer but also to be able to do this myself properly. So how do I use the multi-meter to check if my repair worked out? And what would be a proper volt-reading of RCA-connection from the wire-chassis to the RCA outlets on the back?

(The RCA-outlets are by the way not original, originally Thorens had a RCA-wire (grey) that went from the
bottom-plate to the amplifiere. The RCA-plugs here are a modification of later times '80ies/'90ies or later)

Adding picture to explain

Although I put in a picture, it apparently got lost in the posting proces.
I try again....

Attachments

• RCA-plugs Thorens.jpg