Troubleshooting Hum, Please Check My Work

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm relatively new to analog audio. I've been lurking here for a bit now, and trying to learn all I can about troubleshooting hum. I would like to outline what I've found and get some feedback on whether I'm on the right track or if there is anything else I should consider.

I have a Philips 312 turntable and a Harman/Kardon 430 receiver. I'm getting some 60hz hum and I suspect it's from the cartridge picking up stray fields from the transformer in the turntable. Its definitely 60Hz; I've scoped it. Here's how I have come to this conclusion:
  • flipping the 2 prong plugs for the turntable and receiver has no effect.
  • Aux input on the receiver is dead quiet.
  • Phono input with turntable disconnected has some white noise at 74%+ volume but no hum.
  • Phono input with turntable hooked up, but powered off has a little more white noise, but no hum.
  • Hum is present when the turntable is powered on and motor is off.
  • Disconnecting the ground wire between the TT and the receiver makes the hum worse.
  • When the motor is powered on the hum volume is the same as far as I can tell. 33 and 45 rpm, no discernible difference.
  • Motor on or off, the hum gets louder as I swing the arm closer to the spindle. The transformer is on the back left side of the turntable, so swinging the arm brings the cartridge closer to the transformer.
  • The hum gets even louder if I remove the metal platter and swing the arm toward the spindle.