A Revolutionary Pivoting Tangential Tone Arm

Hello All,​
I wanted to post photographs and text together in this new thread but my nice Sigma digital camera stopped working and I had to switch to a canon digital Elph borrowed from a friend. I did not want to delay the thread and I will post photographs the day after tomorrow at the latest.​
Sincerely,​
Ralf​

TONE ARM 4, MODEL 7​
The Inception​
It all started in the mid 1970s, when I worked as a mechanical designer for Scully Recording Instruments Co. in Bridgeport, Connecticut. They manufactured professional tape recorders and of course the Scully Lathe. They were located in the old Underwood Building on Bunnell Street. The Engineering department and the machine shop were upstairs and on the downstairs floor there was a demo room with a Scully 100, 2 inch, 24 track tape recorder and two JBL wooden horn speakers.

During my lunch break, when there were no customers, I would go down to the demo room, eat my sandwich, and listen to whatever was on the 2 inch tape on that particular day. The experience of listening to that professional sound equipment was overwhelming. It started me on the path of designing my geometrically perfect tone arm. My co-workers all had an interest in music in one way or another. Some played musical instruments and one was a part-time recording engineer. I played acoustic guitar and sang folk and country music.

Upon the advice of my co-workers I purchased a Thorens TD-124 turntable and a separate SME 3009/S2 improved tone arm. I started to purchase LPs and soon realized that a pivoting tone arm could not faithfully reproduce music the way it was recorded.