Ultrasimple MM/MC RIAA preamp 2

This morning I threw together my own version of the "Pacific Riaa Pre". I can now say that I have a completely Single Ended feedback-free amplifier chain (Pacific+BZLS+SOZ) :D And a really nice sounding chain it has become.. This crude little riaa pre is too good to be true. My intention is to tweak it like nothing has been tweaked before (cascoding etc), hence the "fast & furious" building style; it's very effective though (took me about 3 hours to make). All components are matched to the tightest tolerances and to get as close as possible to the ideal riaa values which are 22K4, 3K257 + 97n6, 100R + 33n5.

Well, enough rambling; do yourself a favour and try this circuit! ;)

Pictures:

Attachments

• pacific_box.jpg
    pacific_box.jpg
    88.1 KB · Views: 22,498
Hehe... If you can't read it, you can't build it ;) I could have drawn it in EWB5, but I like to draw on paper. I've got a "diy journal" where I scribble all my efforts. I'm an engineer; I can't think without a pen in my hand and a piece of paper in front of me.

Considering its made in MS-Paint....its ugly but readable. The second fet is left out intetionally, since theyre identical.

Im fine with the "back o' napkin" solution, thats how i do schematics as well. I dont even have software for making schematics or simulation for that kind of matter.

Anyhow, its a great RIAA you made there....ill make a clone right away:D

Magura:)

Magura said:

Anyhow, its a great RIAA you made there....ill make a clone right away:D

-I know, I'm going through my record collection like a Mad_Kman ;)

-Good for you.

BTW, have you read this? http://www.audionote.co.uk/anp2.htm

And this ? http://www.audionote.co.uk/anp1.htm (which I think is even better)

edit:
2SK147 and 2SK117GR are drop-ins. Don't really know about any IR or ON parts. Many JFETs can be used, but I believe the Toshiba parts are particulary good sounding units.