Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th September 2018, 09:42 PM   #1141
JP is offline JP  United States
diyAudio Member
 
JP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York, NY
Board sets appear on eBay typicallzy a couple times per year. Usually run $3-400.

I don’t find the boards in these all that fragile, but that depends on your soldering skills. Bench supply is a nice to have - rather easy to current limit the Technics supply too. Watch some YouTube videos on desoldering ICs - plenty of reasonable ways to accomplish that with wick and an iron.
__________________
"Show me on the doll where the aliens touched you." - SY
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2018, 09:53 PM   #1142
Algar_emi is offline Algar_emi  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Algar_emi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada, Qc
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
A while back I found a complete set of boards on ebay, from a trusty seller in Japan, think it was samourai-electronics, may not be still available, cost was around 500-700U$ if i remembered correctly. But you may ask him if he has any in stock, is a reliable seller as far as I know.

I tried first with TTL-LS but it didn't work, probably because i was mixing DTL and TTL. I tried first to replace only a few chips. It may work if we replace all of them at once, but what worry me is the resistors and caps used all around in the signal path, to mix signals, change shapes, etc. Since the output current and output configuration is not the same as TTL, I would expect some strange behavior. As the guy reported some strange, intermittent glitches, that may be why. Some of these resistor/caps may need value adjustment to work with TTL. Also some IC are driving directly transistors in other sections of the circuit, again not sure that the TTL-LS can do it properly... The guys also reported that the start doesn't work well, it is because he doesn't use DTL. i had the same problem with the first TTL-LS I used, again R-C mismatch with the TTL chip...

What is fragile on these boards are the bad plated throught holes, really from an other area. If you don't take care, and put back a new IC, you may have none connected top and bottom pads at some locations. Since the IC are dead anyway and cannot be salvaged, better not take any chances and cut them out... The ic pin holes diameter are also very thight, not much space left to suck the solder out. They remind me of Philips scope pcb I used to work on, 35 years ago, pretty bad pcb, not like the excellent ones produce today.

Sorry i cannot do the repair for you at this time, i have full of others projects, and it will be expensive...

Try ebay first, but make sure it is a trusty seller, so you don't end up with an other defective pcb...

Last edited by Algar_emi; 12th September 2018 at 10:07 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2018, 06:27 PM   #1143
ra7 is offline ra7  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
I'll look into the DTL chip replacements. Do you have replacement part numbers? Or, replace with original parts?

Also, can you folks recommend a good bench supply? I looked into these, and the ones that can do dual channels, have a 32.5V capability, and current limiting are expensive. Most are limited to 30V. At least the ones I'm seeing. I'm in the bay area, so there are surplus stores around. I can check there.

Any recommendations for sharp cutters for the chip legs?

And is a desoldering station recommended, or a manual vacuum pump is OK? There are some cheapies on ebay at <$50. Would those work? I hate to buy specialized equipment that I likely won't use again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2018, 06:32 PM   #1144
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Moderator
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
A cheap desolder pump is going to cause headache, heartburn, and more damage. You need a really good desolder station, or a pistol type, depending on which you like holding better. Don't skimp, if you do the cost of the cheap one is just going to get added to the good one.

You need 2 bench supplies, one for the logic 5v and the motor power 32.5v. They need to be individually switchable, as the logic voltage must be on before the motor voltage is applied.

Or repair your current supply and use that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2018, 09:47 PM   #1145
ra7 is offline ra7  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
6L6, I don't know if you've been following my problems over the last few pages, but it appears the PS is actually fine. Algar recommended a bench supply for testing by using the current limiting feature of the bench supply to test as I go along replacing individual chips. I agree I do need a bench supply (just generally for diy), but lab-grade ones tend to be expensive, and those that can do 30+V are rare and even more expensive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2018, 10:05 PM   #1146
6L6 is online now 6L6  United States
diyAudio Moderator
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
The Incredible Technics SP-10 Thread
Ok, sorry... I thought something got connected incorrectly on the PSU and that caused the failures downstream and hurt it. I've been watching, but only with half an eye.
  Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2018, 08:37 PM   #1147
esl 63 is offline esl 63
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
If you have a 30 volt bench supply, you just buy one of these wall plugg PS such as 5volt or 12 volt type. Those are galvanically separated and floats. You just add one of these in series with the 30 volt and you adjust it to 32.5.. it has to deliver the current though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2018, 10:50 PM   #1148
Alekz91 is offline Alekz91
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Wow, what an incredible thread!


I recently acquired an SL-1000MKIIP previously used by the Swedish Radio. I assume identical to the version in post #892. It works great, however im having few issues I wanted to hear others thoughts on.


1. The start/stop button on the unit itself does not work, i have to press the 'remote' button on the control unit SH-10C to stop and repress it to start spinning. Presumebly boradcasting versions are set up this way, however I would like the get the normal button working. it appears to be in good condition so i don't think it is broken. I enclose a picture on how it is wired up in my unit. As you can see i have a white/red cable going from the start button to CN202 on the logic PCB. Im wondering if these rather should be connected somewhere else as I haven't seen it like this before.


2. I noticed when connected that the pickup is slightly skewed to the left. Is this normal or is it a problem? I played a few test records and I haven’t notice any tracking errors.


3. The headshell I got with the unit has what appears two resistors soldered (marked n10). What is the purpose of this? I haven't tried to hook up a pickup to it.


IMG 20180930 214027 — imgbb.com
IMG 20180927 100025 01 — imgbb.com
IMG 20180930 212431 — imgbb.com
IMG 20180930 231809 — imgbb.com


Best
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2018, 08:44 PM   #1149
SAP7 is offline SAP7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
There’s a bolt in most headshells that lets you rotate them?
But a small spirit level for headshells and adjust until level.

If the headshell won’t adjust you need one that does!
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2018, 10:51 PM   #1150
Dave Cawley is offline Dave Cawley  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Dave Cawley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Beautiful Dartmouth in Devon UK
n10 are 100pF loading capacitors for moving magnet cartridges.

For the start stop you will need to go through this with a scope and the service manual. It would help if you have the SH-10C circuit, but I think you could do it without that.

For ra7 you did ask about PSU's hence 6L6's reply. eBay is what you need and I would not recommend surplus at all. You may need to get more experience before atmpting this though ?
__________________
"if it measures well & sounds good, it is good" : "if it measures badly & sounds bad it is bad" : "if it measures badly & sounds good, it could be improved" : "if it measures well but sounds bad it is bad"
  Reply With Quote

Reply


The Incredible Technics SP-10 ThreadHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technics SP 10 Speed Problems rollinr Analogue Source 29 27th October 2017 10:05 AM
Technics SP-10 Doesn't Spin breadhead Analogue Source 6 27th October 2014 12:09 AM
Cheap oscilloscope for setting up a Technics SP-10 johnm Analogue Source 22 28th June 2011 08:47 PM
Technics SP-10 speed problems Stefanoo Analogue Source 3 17th August 2008 11:05 PM
Technics SP-10 MKII pitch control peterb Analogue Source 6 28th March 2004 02:29 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.00%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2019 diyAudio
Wiki