DIY linear tonearm

I no longer can build things like that any longer. I have severe carpal tunnel syndrome in both hands and arthritis and I’ve already had two back surgeries and need one more
I am a highly accomplished machinist with the wood and metal and also a very accomplished welder. I’ve been a master mechanic for 45 years and with all of the years of doing this type of work has taken a toll on my body
I was hoping to find someone who has one or who can make one to a certain level that I could finish or take over a project
I do agree with you 100% that you do need to have the length of the arm as short as possible, the longer the arm, the less stiffness you have and the arm and start to transfer some vibrations through the arm itself from the needle. It’s basic engineering and physics
I just wish my hands would work a 1/10 of a%
As what my Head has gone through it with ideas for making turntables and arms
I have a bunch of 1 1/2 bulletproof glass that I am wanting to make a turntable out of It
I just need to get out to my brothers and use his shop and start milling and running the lathe to make some parts
Hi carlthess40,
You have many sympathizers here and elsewhere about the impact of carpal tunnel syndrome and arthritis on your abilities, and your hobby.

[My apologies to all about this post not belonging, so I will say only one thing more.]

If one has to get back to the job quickly, surgery is probably best, but if you have time (e.g. retired), go for the steroid injection(s). It takes longer, but if you do respond, the end result will likely be better.

Andy

I’ve tried so many different things
Shots in the back and neck. And everything in between lol
I only went with the surgery after 8 years of trying every other option and I was losing the Ability to use my legs. It sucks to stand and fall over. Lol. I did get back about 70% of my leg feelings

Last edited: