Turntable issues.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i'm a complete novice to these forums and to hi-fi in general.

I recently unearthed all my dad's old lps, and i'd planned on buying him a turntable for x-mas to play them on.

He currently has an old Bang & Olufson stereo all in one (CD/Tape/amp/radio), with 2 big speakers running off that, so i had originally planned to hook the turntable up to that, and run it from there, using those speakers.

I had a shufty round the back of the thing and saw this which has thrown me. I have no idea what they are. Do i need things with those connectors, or can i get an adapter to connect to those? Are they special B&O only sockets or something?

I'm completely stuck as to what to do now, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

ta

It's a DIN socket, fairly standard in Europe and UK for many years. All 5 connectors (L+, L-, R+, R-, GND) are wired into the one connector rather than 2 RCA's.

You can buy cables that run from the tonearm base that are already terminated in the correct DIN, or simply cut the RCA's off the existing TT cable and solder it all up. The connectors are cheap, thogh they can be a be-atch to work with on the really cheap ones.

It's been a long time since I soldered one of these up, but IIRC,

2 - Screen and earth
3 - L+
5 - R+

HTH

good brett is trying to help but >>>

the phono input (which is the one one you want) as are all
the others is the rare as proverbial seven pin DIN socket.

Brett is referring to the five pin DIN, not sure the same
numbering applies to the seven pin DIN.

Its best to contact B&O to confirm connection details>

:) sreten

Re: good brett is trying to help but >>>

sreten said:
Brett is referring to the five pin DIN, not sure the same
numbering applies to the seven pin DIN.