A two-stage MC tube based RIAA circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My 2SK240/ECC88, 6SJ7 RIAA build

As a student, I made a PAS3X clone of the Dynaco preamplifier. A simple two stage ECC83 concept, with an added buffer stage (three ECC83 sections). It is conformant to the specs, with a warm hint in the lows.
Dynaco PAS circuit.gif
The difference we (actyually my friend Peter Sikorski) had was an added output buffer of ECC83.
I used it for a few years until I bought a Yamaha CA-1000.

Around 1982 I got a subscription on the French magazine L’Audiophile, with Jean Hiraga as editor. A great guy. I made one of his implementations of the Kaneda solid state preamplifier including an RIAA section. I also made his 8W Le Monstre, my version weighted more than 30 kg’s. And I made the Le PrePre. The preamp combo was great.

But after a few years I decided to go triode again. Just for fun. But what to do? I had Hiraga’s design for a tube RIAA (roughly based on a McIntosh C22) from September 1981, but :

1. I wanted to go non-feedback. In my reasoning, the vinyl noise (dust, ticks, scratches) gets smeared out by the feedback – and then becomes audible. I figured dust often is around 1 micrometer large and at the speed of turning it in general should be above 15-20 KHz – beyond perception.
  2. I wanted to go directly in with a MC element. So I needed more amplification than a standard tube design. I wanted to plug in my Ortofon low output MC directly.
  3. MC low input directly to line level in two amplification stages, not more implies it should provide at least 85-90 dB of amplification. This implies using a steep pentode if needed.
  4. To adapt the low level, an input silent JFET should be tried, but not as a separate stage. Rather as a cascode.
  5. I like to have the 2122 Hz as last filter section, because this way the noise floor of the second stage is reduced too.