OPA2134 Stability

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
What's going on in that circuit? It looks like the power supply is modulated by the input. Is that how the designer prevents the 2134 from latching up? Seems drastic.

I was prototyping a speaker compensation circuit. I was using the 2134 in the non-inverting configuration. It was stable until I applied a signal. Then it latched up. Powered it down and back up, rinse lather repeat. Then I configured it as an inverter and it worked great. I've been using that circuit in my preamp for a couple of years without a hiccup.

Hah! That's almost exactly the one I've been using (A104M15X7RF5TAA) except that mine might be just a tad smaller---see my picture in post #58. Your choice is a little bit less expensive in large (100) quantities, though.......methinks either one will be an excellent performer in this PS bypass application,

That may be true, but the higher voltage cap is going to be bigger, and that for me rules it out. 50 volts is more than enough for anything at or below line level. I usually run my line level equipment power supplies at +/- 17 volts. The X7R MLCCs are the best for power supply bypassing in as small a package as possible.

Last edited:
I put a 4562 in the first filter and it oscillated. I put a NE5532AP back in and it worked.

Magic combo is 5532 on the input, 4562 on the output. Without scrutinizing datasheets I surmise that the 5532 has a better phase margin.

I will further evaluate. If it sounds good (should be totally unobtrusive) it's a win. 45 mV offset in first stage is inconsequential. 3 mV on the output is what matters.

Project 99 - Subsonic Filter

Yes, thank you. I have used this method before. The problem is, there is no feedback resistor; the outputs are connected to the inverting inputs. And I always solder a 100 nF capacitor directly to the supply pins on the bottom of the board.