Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

Sub woofer
Sub woofer
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th March 2020, 03:13 PM   #1
Charan Raju H is offline Charan Raju H
diyAudio Member

Default Sub woofer

Hi guys, I'm planning to build a DIY subwoofer but I'm new to these audio stuffs.
I have a 20w speaker and a 25w amp to drive the speaker. The amplifier is driving the speaker with all audio frequency signals but I need only low frequency bass signals to be amplified. So I made a low pass filter using 741 Operational amplifier and connected between output of amp and the sub. But the result was worse. Instead of filtering the low frequency signals the LPF attenuated the signals.So my question is, was my choice of putting a low pass filter is correct? If yes, where is the correct position to insert the LPF? Before amp or after amp?
And my last doubt is, whether 20w sub is powerful enough in a 4*4 metre room.
Please give me some suggestions.
Old 30th March 2020, 04:05 PM   #2
Mark Tillotson is offline Mark Tillotson
diyAudio Member

Operational amplifiers work at signal levels, the output of a power amplifer is high power and completely unsuitable for active filtering - passive cross-over filters are used after a power amp, using large inductors and capacitors.

To low-pass filter with an opamp you need to do this before the power amp at line-level.

The 741 is not appropriate for audio, its noisy and poor performance. NE5532's are the to-go easy to source opamp for general audio use, there are others too but for price/performance ratio few compete.