1.21 Gigaohms : Going through big resistors

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
5000 ohm resistors. 5k

I’m a beginner in the amp/ electronics diy world. I understand speaker crossovers so coming from that side of things I know what 1 ohm R can do to a signal ...

I’m putting together a balanced passive preamp and looking at the sizes it calls for 5k R on each leg before the pot to maintain load when turned fully down. I get that but what strikes me is the thousands of ohms the signal has to go through even when fully opened up. Wouldn’t this crush the signal to death?

Here is a link to what I’m going to follow
https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/pas...nuator-dual-channel-balanced.html#post3060481

5000 ohm resistors. 5k

I’m a beginner in the amp/ electronics diy world. I understand speaker crossovers so coming from that side of things I know what 1 ohm R can do to a signal ...
OMG! I've lost my longest message in all the times! DIY audio server showed me its condoleances but it didn't make it to me to feel better :mad::fight:

So, what's up ?
In the quoted message: line level signal carries voltage, not power.

In the link you proposed: to my unskilled view, it seems to me that the one pictured is a "common mode" attenuator, since there's no reference to ground; the potentiometer is wired like a variable resistor ( pins 2 &3 tied together).
Using a 4-ganged potentiometer wired normally is the way to go.

About the title: 1.21 GHz is RF. I admit I have no frequentation with RF. Also "balanced" is something that I've never encountered. But 1MΩ potentiometer, yess !! Nothing wrong in putting 1 MΩ in series to the signal, the problems arise when there's a cable ( with its own RLC parameters) between two stages and there might be a treble loss when the cursor of the pot introduces significant Rseries, so the low Ω potentiometers ( 10-20 kΩ) are favoured

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member