Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

output preamp & attenuator coloring box for eurorack modular to balanced +4db
output preamp & attenuator coloring box for eurorack modular to balanced +4db
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th August 2019, 09:01 AM   #1
Gitaarwerk is offline Gitaarwerk  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Default output preamp & attenuator coloring box for eurorack modular to balanced +4db

Hi,

First of all, I'm a little hesistant to start this project, because i have no knowledge about electronics, and the level on this forum is pretty high. Bear with me please :-)

i'll give it a shot... I've been reading a lot lately on how I want to do this, but its not easy. The idea may seem like it, but there's a lot involved (so i read). Here, I hope any of you can point me into the right direction (not expecting full solutions). Be honest if this is a bad idea, if else, hopefully I can build my first project :-)

Impedance matching
Ok, so, the idea is, a eurorack system is build of modules that have quite a hot output. The impedance lies around 1K. To convert it to line level which can go into my daw, it should be around 10K. Many of the outputs will be -10dB, but obviously, I prefer it balanced to +4dB.

Choice to use transformer
While doing this, I could choose to have an active build (like an active DI) or do it passively with a transformer. By reading, an active output is often preferred with a passieve circuit and vice versa. Since I want to convert it to balanced, and not step it down to mic level, I might be wrong about this assumption to do it with a transformer.

Signal coloration