Ideas for a bluetooth controlled preamp / headphone amp combo (PGA2311)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I have an idea for a miniature preamp in a configuration I haven't quite seen before aside from some headphone amps. I have some experience with the NRF52840 bluetooth chips, they are really good for building remote controlled devices, and I'd like to try using it to control a small desktop preamp that can do double duty as a headset/headphone amp.

The goals of the preamp would be:

• parts cost under $50
  • low noise, clean sound
  • power supply from a USB 2A 5V wall wart (same as raspberry pi 3)
  • small size (similar to a FiiO portable headphone amp)
  • no source selection (1 source, 1 output)
  • headset jacks instead of RCA's (for size and headset support)
  • pass through microphone line level signal
  • 4-segment clock-style display (or maybe an OLED)
  • ultra-minimalist design, no buttons or switches (100% Bluetooth controlled)
  • use a Bluetooth remote for volume, mute, power, balance

Inspiration:

Basically I want a smaller, more minimalist, all bluetooth version of the Schiit Saga S with maybe better performance.

I wasn't sure if I'd be able to pull this off until I started studying some other diy PGA2311 projects, particularly this one:

This looks fairly easy to build, and can probably be miniaturized, but from what I understand it should have some additional low-noise power supply and filters/buffers.

There are few other PGA2311 projects on this forum that I want to borrow ideas from, like like this one from user @kulamario. He posted an Eagle file I can start with for my analog section:

Parts:
- PGA2311PA (or smd version PGA2311UA/1K)
- LT3045 for the analog +5V
- MAX1044 for the -5V inverter
- NRF52840 feather board for the MCU, 3.3V regulator, and USB 5V jack
- simple 4 digit display like this one

See the attached image for the basic plan.