Balanced to Unbalanced Converter Help!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

I am working on a circuit which converts Balanced signal to Unbalanced signal. I also attenuate the signal 12 dB. I have the schematics with op amps working perfectly.

Naked version here:
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

But since I want to make it a professional audio circuit, I would like to know what should I add it, like bypass capacitors. I am not an engineer but learning these things, so I would appreciate all help.

Here is my final version with bypass capacitors and 10K input resistors.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I would appreciate a lot if you can suggest me if I need to use DC removal or not, or how to use, or what else I need more on the circuit.

Thanks...

Far too complex. All you need is this basic design, as most manufacturers of high quality mixing desks use. By all means use 'better quality' op amps but it is difficult to beat a TL071.
Extra buffering is not normally required.
You can attenuate as you with.

Attachments

• p51-f2.gif
    p51-f2.gif
    3.3 KB · Views: 2,122
Far too complex. All you need is this basic design, as most manufacturers of high quality mixing desks use. By all means use 'better quality' op amps but it is difficult to beat a TL071.
Extra buffering is not normally required.
You can attenuate as you with.

That will 'work' but the 3 op amp design will be quieter - due to both lower value resistors where it matters and less voltage noise from that opamp.

Yes - mixing desks often had loads of TL07x op amps inside but generally that was due to cost and reliability considerations as there are hundreds of them and the NE5532 or NE5534 bipolar devices used to cost loads more and