How To Make Passive High Pass Filter?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
How to i create a passive line-level 90hz high pass filter? I want to be able to filter off the low end limit of my speakers (90hz) before it goes into the (class d, tpa*) amps.
How would using a headphone output from a device affect the passive filter?
Or a audio isolator before the passive filter?

there's designs using resistors and caps but where there other passive circuits that used other components like err was it inductors??? :/

I’ve tried days of researching but a lot of what i find is for electric guitars or doesn't answer my question of what resistor and caps(?) to use for a line level or headphone input. Im a newbie that is trying to make my first understand of these related subjects and could do with a meaningful to me example , like this question to help me get started in making sense of it all :)

One Option for High Pass Filter

Hello cacao ambiance,

If I understand your question correctly, I had a similar issue a while ago. Due to room placement, my right speaker had a bit more low bass output than the left speaker, so I wanted to tame down the one with more output. My solution was to insert a capacitor between the output of my preamp and the input of the power amplifier for the right channel. I worked up a little spreadsheet to calculate the capacitance needed for the known input impedance of the power amplifier.

The first figure shows the simple schematic and the calculations for determining the -3dB frequency. The second figure calculates and plots the response curve.

In my case I used a pair of 0.1 MFD MusicCaps in series to get 0.05 MFD or 50 nF, which I thought was close enough to the calculated 47 nF for this application. This solution worked fine to tame the low bass output so the two speakers were better matched.

I hope this will be of some help.

Cheers,

ceulrich

Attachments