Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Analog Line Level Preamplifiers , Passive Pre-amps, Crossovers, etc.

RC filter component selection
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th October 2017, 06:25 PM   #1
robinlawrie is offline robinlawrie  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default RC filter component selection

ok so.. yes.. im a noob.

i need to create a pair of simple lowpass RC filters for line-level signals. lowpass around 2-3khz.

there are many calculators that let you choose values for R, C and frequency obviously, no problems there.

however, it seems to me you would want the lowest value for R as possible, so you dont attenuate the signal more than necessary.

could somebody explain why im not using some 1 ohm resistors?
Old 26th October 2017, 07:12 PM   #2
richie00boy is offline richie00boy  United Kingdom
Did it Himself
diyAudio Member

Because as you start approaching the roll off point the signal will start seeing a huge load and distortion will go through the roof.
I wouldn't generally go lower than 4.7k in your application. But be mindful of the input impedance of whatever you are driving with the filter.

Last edited by richie00boy; 26th October 2017 at 07:15 PM.
Old 26th October 2017, 07:35 PM   #3
flyingfishtw is offline flyingfishtw  Taiwan
diyAudio Member

You can, the formula is F-3db = f=1/2piRC, you can shuffle things around to make the equation more suitable for your calculation, the resistor doesn't make the signal smaller in anyway, it's the result of R and capacitor Reactance Xc interaction.

with R 1k ohm F-3db 2khz, C will be 80nF.
with R 1 ohm F-3db 2khz, C will be 80uF.