Salas DCG3 preamp (line & headphone)

Joined 2017
Paid Member
Me, today, did one more tiny step towards completion:
connecting the selector switch and the corresponding LEDs, tadaa!
(zenmod would answer with homer's blue car scene, but he isn't here, isn't he? :D )

Attachments

• D7113098-E586-40C6-8943-50274BEDB02A.jpeg
    D7113098-E586-40C6-8943-50274BEDB02A.jpeg
    305.4 KB · Views: 84
diyAudio Chief Moderator
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I am not an electrician I don't know the regulations details. Especially in each different country. I suppose double fused is for places where the plug can be reversed in the socket. Should not be a problem if its not prohibited in your country.

Compliance to Safety Standards is no joke, and as builders of custom equipment that will not have the benefit of being reviewed by a safety certification body, we owe it to ourselves, our families and our neighbors to build equipment that would be found in compliance if reviewed and tested.

The double fuse may be of benefit if Line and Neutral reversal is possible or likely, but its proper application is not as simple as just adding a second fuse. If I recall properly, it is required that if the Neutral fuse opens because of a fault, then both fuses must open. It's unlikely any DIY builders will apply "faults" to their equipment to verify this result. Not that applying shorts to the AC line stages and the transformers and rectifiers of equipment isn't exciting, but most of us probably won't go there.

I think a better approach would be to test that the outlets where we are going to plug in our custom equipment are correctly wired (a good idea anyway), and use a single fuse in the Line (hot) circuit of our equipment along with an IEC inlet that does not allow for plug reversal.

Reactions: 1 user