Doug Self Preamp from Linear Audio #5

if you have some free space you can putt near the power supply pcb a C-Core from Selectronic :

Transformateur R-core 14VA - 2 x 18V - R-CORE pour circuit imprimé

I'm not sure this one feet, I planned to putt an other one which has wired outputt I will screw close to the PS PCB with short connection from the secondary !
Transformateur R-core 30VA - 2 x 18V - R-CORE pour châssis because I have one already !

Maybe aUDIOPHONICS has some too, but check they have two separated secondaries (non common center tap gnd on the secondaries)

Last edited:
I am fairly new to this, but these pieces look like they can be adapted to 230V.
Maybe someone more experienced can comment? :confused:

2x115V PCB Mounting Toroidal Power Transformers from Nuvotem Talema

I use 15VA Talema's (there are also Amveco). Looking at the AMGIS L01-6354 they are the same size and pin spacing. They are all dual primaries and dual secondaries. Just connect two primaries in series and you are ready for 230VAC. I just made myself a bunch of PCBs for these transformers with series primary connection for 230VAC use.

Regards,
Oleg

Finally!

Received all of the parts and assembled the preamp. The finished preamp is shown below sans lid (still being built) and without proper graphics.

This piece of kit is quite magical. It is inaudible at full volume with no inputs, and the clarity of CDs, particularly well mastered ones is remarkable. I haven't tried it yet with the vinyl but am expecting great things.

Thanks to Carl Huff for his superb boards and of course to the designer par excellence Douglas Self, and Jan Didden for publishing the design in Linear Audio #5. Of course DIYAudio is the glue that connects us all and provides the vehicle for dissemination and day-to-day discussions.

Graeme

And the attachments...

Attachments

• self_pre_gd#1.jpg
    self_pre_gd#1.jpg
    173 KB · Views: 843
  • self_pre_gd#2.jpg
    self_pre_gd#2.jpg
    270.9 KB · Views: 806