Doug Self Preamp from Linear Audio #5

Very interesting. A few years ago I did consider something similar re digipots for remote volume control but couldn't see how I could get it to work electrically in the Self design. Will go back and rethink. Was also concerned that the non linear aspects of digipots would increase the distortion. Whist any effect would be minimal and totally inaudible but seemed a sin in a Self design. I also see you have what looks like a small switching UPS presumably for standby power. Notoriously noisy but again may make little difference in reality depending on what it's there for.

From my point of view, the original implementation surely has a touch of perfection. If you want to add a remote control or other things which require a microcontroller, you have to make a compromise. But I'm not a pro and others would surely be able to design things in a better way - starting with better test equipment.

From my point of view, the original implementation surely has a touch of perfection. If you want to add a remote control or other things which require a microcontroller, you have to make a compromise. But I'm not a pro and others would surely be able to design things in a better way - starting with better test equipment.
Nice. Try twisting all signal and AC wires.

If I tried: What would be the expected result?
Actually there is nothing to try as all multi-conductor cables should be twisted as it reduces pick-up and interference. That goes for AC power, interconnects (AC as well), digital and speaker cables as well. One exception is coax cables. Even in DC supply cables, twisting reduces self-induction.

The twisting ensures that both wires are on average the same distance from an interfering source and are affected equally, which helps canceling common mode later.

I had a lot of trouble with the 2 SPI busses causing distortions. But these were not related to the wiring.
Couldn't find other wiring related distortions either.