R-2R attenuator PCB layout question

Hello!

I've been playing around with R-2R attenuator board for my diy system. The attenuator will be controlled by the Arduino. The attached schematic is fairly standard. I have sketched two possibilities: with through hole and SMD resistors. I have not decided yet which way to go but am more inclined towards SMD version. I also decided to wire the relay coils off board via the pinheads. I've tried to follow the signal while routing the PCB but may have overlooked something. I am new to the PCB design.

Could some of the gurus advise me if either side of the PCB (through hole or SMD) have problems? Any input is highly appreciated!

OlegSh

Attachments

• AttenuatorSCH.png
    AttenuatorSCH.png
    42.2 KB · Views: 1,858
  • AttenuatorBRD.png
    AttenuatorBRD.png
    39.9 KB · Views: 1,836
I'll try to be more specific about my worries.
Could the connection scheme of the relay coils induce "switching" noise into the audio signal when relays turn on/off? There will be an unavoidable loop created by the wires feeding the relay coils. Four layer PCB would be easier but it is too expensive.

You need to add back-EMF snubber diodes across the relay coils, as close as possible to the coil (surface mount on the bottom?). I also would try to bring out all connections to one side of the board (one common for the relays?). This way you could flip the board for troubleshooting. E

Thanks a lot mickeymoose,

I just checked and SMD version of 1N400x would fit perfectly between the relay pins on the underside of the PCB. Initially I wanted to have them on the controller side... As for the connections I'll have to think how to route them to one side.

I know jackinnj.