Getting Started on Preamp Design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All!

First post on this forum, I've been a huge fan of all the info that's available on here. Basically I want to get started on building a pre-amp circuit. I want to integrate it into an ADC/DAC design (specifically, something similar to the XMOS reference designs, if anyone's familiar with their products). I'm looking to design a clean, low-noise amplification for instrument level inputs to line level outputs. I'm new to the audio design community, and while I've done a good amount of research on different pre-amp circuits, I was wondering if any of you had some suggestions on documentation that helped you build pre-amp designs. I'm not sure what type of op-amp to use, if I need multiple op-amps (if I need none?), if it should have an inverting or non-inverting input, etc, so any help is much appreciated! Thanks in advance,

Pat

- I need two inputs for instrument level signals.
- Isn't this standard across instrument level signals? I looked it up quickly, and it says 0.1V to 1.0V for passive signals, up to 1.75V for active, and I'd like the whole range, so I guess 0.1V to 1.75V?
- I don't need any features other than gain control.
- No levels for power amps, just the line level output.

I'll check out the NE5532 for now, thanks for the reply!

Pat

<< I need two inputs for instrument level signals - Isn't this standard across instrument level signals? I looked it up quickly, and it says 0.1V to 1.0V for passive signals, up to 1.75V for active, and I'd like the whole range, so I guess 0.1V to 1.75V? >>

You generally stick with the non-inverting input of an op amp because that's the high impedance side.