Drop in replacement for NE5532?

Can someone tell me what a better drop in replacement for the NE5532 might be? I got a DAC kit from China for really cheap and am putting it together. It uses the NE5532 opamp for output. It has the nice plug/receptacle on tue board that the NE5532 fits into so it could be easily pulled and switched. I am fairly new to DACs and opamps but have heard there are much better opamps than this one.
Thanks for your advice!
Jeff

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Thoughts... its very subjective really.

The OPA2064 is definitely more musical sounding in my experience compared to many others. It was designed (as of course were others) for audio and differs in that the distortion spectrum it produces has the even harmonics predominating. Which is what the ear likes.
I suspect that its this "coloured" sound that makes it so appealing... if thats what you like.

The NE5532 should and can sound very transparent... when used correctly and in the right applications, however, I read an interesting article on the 5532 and how its bjt input stage can give rise to odd distortion products when used at the output of DAC's due to the residual HF hash causing non linearities. That might go some way to explaining its "poor" reputation for sonics when most upgrades of the 5532 are in CD players etc.

My experience of the 5534 (the single version of the 5532) in my Micromega Stage 2 player was that even the old TL071 was better sonically.
After trying these different opamps I came to the conclusion the reputation of the 5534 and 5532 was justified (the poor sonics), however my view has changed a little over the years and I find when used as just a line amplifier etc they are very transparent.

So ultimately you are going to have to try for yourself. I mentioned the TL071, well the TL072 dual is a drop in replacement too for the 5532 and well worth a try. If you like it then I would definitely try the OPA2604.