• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

The AKSA ' 'TLP' - a great solution to a digital issue! :-))

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The 'TLP' is a tube buffer which Hugh produced before he developed his GK-1 preamp ... which then led on to the GK-2, which I have. So it's a product from long ago ... which languished, after the GK-1 came out. :(

Now, I have just dipped my toe into the digital waters ... replacing the 3-way analogue active XOs I've been using with my Maggies for 15 years with a miniDSP unit (10x10Hd). I did this because I added a pair of subs to my Maggies, so:
1. I needed a 4-way XO, and
2. I needed to use DSP to delay my Maggies, to line up with the subs which are about 1.3m further away from my ears.

As a result, I have just bought 2x TLP kits! :cool:

Now, my system currently is: sources --> GK-2 --> miniDSP --> power amps.

The beauty of the GK-2 is that it has 2 outputs:
1. the ss (sub) output. (This bypasses the unity-gain tube output stage of the GK-1/GK-2.)
2. the tube output.

If you are running active speakers, it is a well-known fact that you should feed your woofers from the 'sub out' and your tweeters (& mids) from the 'tube out'. The reason is:
* ss out gives better definition of the leading edge of bass transients (than the tube does), and
* tube output gives a more entrancing delivery of mids & HFs than the sub out does.

So currently:
* my sub out feeds subs + bass panels, and
* my tube out feeds mid panels + ribbons.