Strange subwoofer project (?)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys, I'm a newbie to this forum and to the whole audio DIY stuff, I've been wanting to do something for a long time and just recently worked myself up to inquiring more about it, and this seemed like the right place... I'm really humbled by all the stuff I see on this forum, I seriously have no idea what I'm looking at half of the time lol :ashamed: :beady: So yeah, my newbie project I have no idea how to go about would be changing or replacing the subwoofer in a Logitech x-540, but I don't want to just replace the 5" subwoofer, I've already purchased a 10" subwoofer (yes, a cheap one...), and I'd like to keep the satellites from the x-540, but somehow remove the current subwoofer and use the 10" one instead... I'm aware that the x-540 is feeding 25watts to the 5" subwoofer, but the sub I have is 150RMS so I'm assuming I need a new amplifier capable of that (and by the way I have no idea where to purchse an amplifier, which brands to buy/avoid, or even what type to buy or anything, I'd really appreciate some suggestions :x please), but I'm confused on how I'd somehow keep the satellites from the x-540 and change the subwoofer like that, is this even possible? I'm aware that I'd need to make a new box for this new sub, but Im confused on how this would go down... :S :(

So basically I'd like to somehow keep the satellites, but install a new woofer, and if possible, be able to control it as usual with the remote that comes with the original system (I don't absolutely need this, I can do without it, but if it's possible it would be cool :D)

Sorry for the wall of text, I really hope a kind heart could help me with this, and if I left any important details out, (probably did, I'm bad at this) just ask xD

THANKSSS