Reel to reel equalization

Hello everybody!
I just bought a Technics Rs1500 reel to reel recorder. It comes with a Nab equalization. I would like to modify it to have a switchable IEC equalization that is used on some master tapes.
I have been looking at the schematics(I have attached them). It appears to me that the equalization is obtained with the feedback circuit circled in red plus the one circled in green which changes based on tape speed (the transistor Tr127 is connected to the speed switch).
The circuit circled in red has (if I have done my calculations correctly-I got the formulas here:Andy's Active RIAA Phono Equalization Design Page) two time constants:the first around 3180 μs which is the bass lift and the second around 25μs which is not a time constant of the NAB equalization but I suspect it is then corrected by the second circuit (circled in green).
Now my questions are:
1)Is my reasoning correct? (I'm new in the electronic world)
2) If I wanted to implement the Iec equalization for 15IPS (Two time constants:∞ and 35 μs) what should I do? I think I could increment the value of the of the capacitor 162 or resistor 182 until I get a bass roll off under 20 Hz (∞ is not possible, I've read that people place it somewhere under 20 Hz) and then decrease the value of the capacitor 169 or trim pot vr105 or resistor 181 till I get the correct frequency response ( high frequency roll off at 4500Hz) taking into account the circuit circled in green (I would probably need a calibration tape to do this correctly).
Am I at least partially right? Or completely wrong?
Thank you very much
Benjamin

Attachments

• pb rs1500.jpg
    pb rs1500.jpg
    374.8 KB · Views: 571
I will just playback not record. Anyway I wanted to do a switchable eq. I think it shouldn't be to hard to place somewhere there a relay that can change from one equalization to the other. With this solution I could still record with the Nab equalization and then listen to it.