Question regarding head unit & cd changer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Question regarding head unit & cd changer

Hi all, I am very new to all of this but I would like to learn as much as I can because I want to change the audio system in my car. I have a 2004 Nissan Pathfinder that has a stock Bose 7-speaker audio system with an in-dash 6 CD changer. My main priority is iPod connectivity and right now I'm looking at the Alpine CDA-9855 (is there anyone here who has seen/had experience with one of these and who wants to post some thoughts/tips/other info?). My question is basically how CD changers are related to the actual head unit. Are they tied completely or are they separate entities? I know I'd have to lose the stereo/radio head unit that came with my car, but is there anyway I can keep the CD changer and hook up the Alpine head unit to it so that I don't have to pay x hundred dollars for another changer? Also, considering the difficulty of this modification (you guys know how difficult is, i am clueless), would you guys reccommend I pay a profession $70 to have it installed or is this something that even a beginner (with substantial technical intuition) can do on their own? Thank you for your time. Please advise. - Dan