Preamp booster ?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First, sorry I'm a newbie so don't yell.... I've searched and read hundreds of articles but I'm still not certain what to do.

Basically I've created an audio controller as a replacement for the head unit in my car.

The problem is the controller is putting out line level but the special car amp wants more - like 10v peak to peak from what I've read. The car amp has software adjustable gain, so it only needs/wants fixed levels coming in.

How could I boost the 2v peak to peak to 10v with as simple a circuit as possible? A npn transistor circuit? An opamp?

I've gotten it to work using a power amp ic (tda2822) but it adds lots of hiss, and the circuit is a bit too large for the enclosure. I built an npn circuit but it didn't seem to work right - not enough or too much boost???

Thanks for any help!

10Vpp is right at the maximum limit for a 12V supply.

An opamp using a feed of 13.8V should just about manage a maximum output of 10Vpp into a reasonably high load impedance.
Rail to Rail opamps will get closer to the supply rails, but to achieve this performance, some or many of the other parameters are compromised, sometimes severely.

BTW,
10Vpp is ~3Vac
2Vpp is ~700mVac
700mVac is an unusually low level for a maximum output.

The gain you need is 5times (=+14dB).
An opamp using a 12k & 3k feedback network will give that 5times gain.
If it then feeds a receiver with a 20k input impedance, the opamp sees the 20k//12k as it's total load. Getting 10Vpp into 7k5 from an opamp on 13.8V is getting into the high distortion regions where current output is starting to alter the opamp gain.

Have a look at the ESP and PASS sites for more info on gain stages.

Thanks Andrew a few questions if you dont mind...

Isn't 2Vpp nominal line level? I.e. Line level audio signal voltage at mitat.tuu.fi