PCM2906 PCB Digital Input Problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have attached the PCB layour for my PCM2606 USB sound card. If you want a schematic look at the PCM2906 datasheet, I have used the basic connection without a voltage regulator. The unit works perfectly well playing audio from the PC and also when I use the onboard ADC with the analog inputs (although the input volume seems rather low...but it measures as flat as possible with SpectraLab). The problem I have is that when I connect a digital source such as my NEC3XP+ cd player I get no sound. As I am new to digitla I was wondering if any of you digital gurus out there could help me out. Do I need some kind on filter on the input or something to change the signal level etc? Any help would be much appreciated.

Attachments

• pcm2906 pcb.png
    pcm2906 pcb.png
    17.2 KB · Views: 844
Here is a photo of the board itself. I have since swapped out the ceramic SMD caps on the output for some polypropylene units of the same value...sounds much better. Anyways any help getting the digital in to work would be appreciated. By the way I have only tested it with one source so far, but I assumed that the digital out on the CD player would be a perfet source...maybe I am wrong?

Attachments

• pcm2906.jpg
    pcm2906.jpg
    78.1 KB · Views: 823
Hello Gcollier,
it's normal that you don't get any sound connecting a digital input to the PCM2906 because it is not a DAC!
With the digital input normally you can only record.

Anyway, to listen what is on the digital input you can use any software that offers a direct monitoring of what is in input.
Usually this is a function offered in software that use ASIO drivers. For this purpose check the ASIO4ALL free driver, that works perfectly with the PCM2906.

Bye

paologatto said:
Hello Gcollier,