Newbie wanting a little direction

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, I'm new to the DIY audio realm. i was just wondering if there is a place i could go (aside from the forum), that has a tutorial or additional info? im reading the forum here and learning a lot, but i want to start out building a really small amp (~15-40W), and just kinda work from there.

is there a place that could kinda guide me through (or even a KIT), that would be easy for someone that has NEVER done anything like this before? im fairly knowledgable in general, and can learn quick (i used to be an engineer my first year in college).

i just want a really simple amp to build as a stepping stone. i wnat to eventually build a 1Kw amp of course, but baby steps right?

thanks guys. and no "just read the forum" responses please, i realise that, and i am doing that, but there are no kits on here...

I thought not so long ago you were one of those die-hard video nuts who wouldn't touch audio for anything. Anyway, since you've finally seen the light, you should check out Elliot Sound Projects at http://sound.westhost.com . This is one of the all time audio shrines of the internet. You should also look at http://www.epanorama.net for schematics and stuff. Something else you should do, which will increase your audio knowledge by several orders of magnetude, is read Randy Slone's "High-Power Audio Amplifier Construction Manual" and Douglas Self's "Audio Power Amplifier Design Handbook."

There is no need to start out as small as 15-40W. Rather, 50W is a good starting point. The first power amp I ever built was a 50-60W amp from ESP (project03). It was really simple and only took an hour or so to make.

Good luck!

I second the notion about those 2 books. Both are excellent.
One of the authors, Randy Slone, has a business on the side, http://www.sealelectronics.com