DIY DAC

rsthomas

2016-04-23 2:40 pm
Hi,

I am pretty new to diy electronics. Recently bought a DAC board from ebay. Obviously I didnt think it through to buy the power supply transformer. It requires a 15v-0-15v and 0-9v transformer. Found one on ebay (115V 230V 30W High Quality Audio R Core Transformer 15V 15V 9V 9V for Preamp | eBay). I have a lot of questions and I am sure you guys could be of great help here.

1. Not sure about the wiring aspects. which wire from this transformer goes where ?
2. Any idea what exactly is that ( circled in red ) on pic 1613 it says XMOS.
3. Is it worth using an enclosure ? I was planning to, but as I look at the board, the LEDs are all built into the board. If i were to do an enclosure, I want the LED indicators on the front pannel ( for eg. coax, usb, toslink etc ).

Attachments

• IMG_1613.JPG
    IMG_1613.JPG
    158.2 KB · Views: 518
  • IMG_1614.JPG
    IMG_1614.JPG
    148.9 KB · Views: 504

rsthomas

Thanks

Thanks. Attached is the pic of the transformer. After reading further I think I need to do the following combination

15v-0-15v : YEL - YEL+BRWN - YEL
9v : BLUE - BLUE

Then keep the WHITE away.

Any idea how and which wire to ground ? is that the BLACK ?

Thanks for the help in advance

Attachments

• s-l1600.jpg
    s-l1600.jpg
    162.6 KB · Views: 433

ozcal

2008-06-22 6:18 am
Thanks. Attached is the pic of the transformer. After reading further I think I need to do the following combination

yellow /green is ground : connect to earth on mains recepticle
Black and green are AC, if your country is 115v mains supply , Black and red if your country is 230v.

ozcal

2008-06-22 6:18 am

15-0-15 should be Y- Y+B -B . Test with multimeter connected to single Y AND SINGLE B you should read 30v if you get 0v change the Y and B that are connected together.
Follow Groundloops suggested reading to get safe understanding of what you are doing : always very wise when playing with mains voltages.

02GF74

2010-07-13 1:38 pm
Hi,