Adding Z to Protect Amp (newbie question)?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Is there a circuit which will add constant impedance over a wide frequency range?

I’m considering building MTM’s with 8-ohm mids in parallel, yielding nominal 4 ohms. My amplifier specifies 6 ohms minimum, so I want to add 2 ohms to the mids (assuming they dominate the impedance since they’ll consume most of the power). I want the extra impedance to have minimal effect on the frequency performance of the crossover.

As I (crudely) understand, a 2-ohm resistor in series will protect my amp, but its effects will vary with frequency.

Have I just accidentally described an L-pad circuit?

I'm surprised to see no answer yet, so I'll have a go. Though I'm no expert, I've found out quite a bit about extra resistance in the circuit.

First, what's the amp? Do you know why they say 6 ohms min - is it for safety or just their opinion of what sounds good? It's worth asking the maker.

Next, I'd say that putting a 2 ohm resistor in series with the bass drivers seems like a bad idea to me. OK, it would keep the impedance to about 6 ohms minimum, but it will have an effect on the sound. I'd only do it if I was *really* sure that a 4 ohm load would blow the amp up, and I rather doubt that this is the case.

My valve amp has about 2 ohms output impedance, and modelling my MTM speaker showed that this had a major effect on the bass response, and on the crossover performance. These effects can easily be modelled, and you could start by doing this using the data for your proposed drivers. This should give you an idea if it's worth going further.

Jeff Bagsby's crossover simulator allows a series resistor to be inserted.
Modelling the bass performance requires a bit of simple maths to work out the new Qes and Qts parameters, then use those in WinISD or whatever. Ask me if you want details.

Good luck.
Mike