Kind request of help _ basic but low THD discrete buffers

Joined 2009
Paid Member
Hi ! i am just a beginner and please be free to move this thread to a more proper location :rolleyes:
i have a question about bjts buffers
Is it possible to get low THD buffer from very basic discrete circuits ?
I am attaching an example of what i mean
I am noticing that using a npn and a pnp together instead of using just one bjt as a common collector there is a sort of THD cancellation ?
Is this a general effect ?
I have already a schematic of a decently low THD buffer ... if i add another branch mirroring it (i.e. replacing npn with pnp and viceversa) could i get even lower THD ?
Thank you very much to All
gino

Attachments

• bjt pair buffer.asc
    2.6 KB · Views: 40
  • buffer fft.JPG
    buffer fft.JPG
    144.6 KB · Views: 30
  • buffer two npn _2nd.JPG
    buffer two npn _2nd.JPG
    153 KB · Views: 19
Last edited:
Joined 2009
Paid Member
Hi thank you for the very kind advice Is there a schematic indicating the Voltage at the Q100 fet gate ?
i have discovered lately LTSpice and i am getting the THD attached
I wonder if with a better resistors choice i could get even a lower THD

Attachments

• Nelson Pass jfet buffer.JPG
    Nelson Pass jfet buffer.JPG
    149.8 KB · Views: 23
  • nelson pass buffer.asc
    1.8 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
Joined 2009
Paid Member
Thank you very much indeed Mr Mooly Your settings have been a God send to me !
I hope one day i will be able to understand what they really mean But they work just great
Now i am playing with the SW all the day checking schematic taken from service manuals
I see that the buffer can work also with 18VDC incidentally the voltage of many laptop power supplies I guess that some filtering could be needed
However speaking of the simulation i have already checked that some famous basic preamps of the past are not so special at least in terms of THD