• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

OB/amp project update

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The sale thread sure is taking some time to deal with! In between answering emails, I've been trying to get some work done on the OB project. As always, there is good news and bad news. I'm not as far along as I had hoped. I did build some prototype U-baffles, and I started playing with them today. I spent a good chunk of the day trying to get Room EQ Wizard (from Home Theater Shack, for FR measurements, and ultimately, to determine parametric EQ settings) to run on my PC laptop, to no avail. I know I need an actual sound card, but I can't figure out what else I'm doing wrong.

So, I charted out the OB's room response by hand. The sound less sensitive than I had hoped, but it is tough to judge playing just LF sine saves. They are responding substantially differently from my simple predictions. Basically, in room, they are not rolling off at 6 db/octave, but by considerably less. Perhaps this is all the U-baffle vs flat? In any case, I might be able to get away without any shelving. I can possibly "fudge" things a bit by using a 2nd order Butterworth with a -3 point around 100hz, and then bring in the Betsy around 150hz. I think Nelson Pass is doing something similar. I had assumed that I'd use a 150hz low pass and some shelving, but it may end up being simpler.