• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Buffalo III - flexibility without compromise.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This thing get messier and messier as time passes

How so? There is nothing really tricky. The ES9018 simply cannot have PCM/DSD and SPDIF data present at the same time. You have to switch out the PCM/DSD before you attempt to lock on to SPDIF or you will be asking for trouble. :)

That is what sidecar does. It switches out PCM/DSD and switches in SPDIF.

Last edited:
This thing get messier and messier as time passes
That just isn't true. The design is perfectly simple and elegant. As an engineer I like it, this is how the BII propably should have been. Let's face it, if you want I2S and S/PDIF input, you'll wind up with something closely resembling the Input module + Sidecar. On the BII the on-board S/PDIF switch and comparator mess things up, that's why they're now off-board. Of course Russ & Brian have added a few small things like LEDs to show the current input selection, etc. but the basic design of the BIII + modules is very simple.

On the BII the on-board S/PDIF switch and comparator mess things up, that's why they're now off-board.

Hmm, I would not exactly put it that way. The Buf II solution was geared toward simplicity of use for the most common cases instead of for total configurability.

Buf II made configuration simple, but extension difficult. It simply was a module with a different set of design goals. :)

Last edited: