Legato Tweakers Thread... - Page 31 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Manufacturers > Twisted Pear

Twisted Pear Superior quality electronic kits

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th January 2011, 09:13 PM   #301
diyAudio Member
 
BrianDonegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TPA HQ
Quote:
How's the 2.0 manual coming along?
I just need to build up a presentable Legato-2 (all pretty) and take pics for the manual. I can post without the pics for the time being. Should be up later tonight.
__________________
Twisted Pear Audio
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 09:31 PM   #302
diyAudio Member
 
Bassivus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Vojvodina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ White View Post
Sorry, that is not correct. 200ma is just a good starting point. You have to tune the Placid BP to the load. If your load only draws say 60ma, then 100ma (40ma shunted) would be plenty. But if it draws 200ma you would probably want at least 250ma (50ma shunted).
Could you please recommend Placid BP setting for Legato 1 without buffer?
__________________
...is I disappear. There is ONLY the music.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 09:57 PM   #303
diyAudio Member
 
merlin el mago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Catalonia - Europe
It's necessary to change something to run the Legato +15V -13V, it's also other adjust or upgrade?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 02:55 PM   #304
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassivus View Post
Could you please recommend Placid BP setting for Legato 1 without buffer?
Personally, I liked 80mA shunted and +15v, -13.5v...
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 07:35 PM   #305
diyAudio Member
 
Bassivus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Novi Sad, Vojvodina
Quote:
Originally Posted by francolargo View Post
Personally, I liked 80mA shunted and +15v, -13.5v...
did you actually measured the legato power usage?
__________________
...is I disappear. There is ONLY the music.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 09:21 PM   #306
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassivus View Post
did you actually measured the legato power usage?
yes - ~160mA (X2) but unless there is a problem the exact number is not needed. You can directly measure the shunt current across R1 and R2 on the Placid, and simply adjust it using VR1 and VR2.

Last edited by francolargo; 28th January 2011 at 09:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2011, 12:23 PM   #307
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
A question if I may please. On the main TP site there is a seperate wiring diagram for the dual mono IVY III application. I am currently wiring up a dual mono Legato, but cannot find a specific way of wiring it. As something of a beginer here I do not want to make a mistake when wiring. Do I just use the seperate L & R sections from each legato to the relevant Bal & S/e side, or do I need to run from each as the ivy does?
Any help / information / diagrams here would be much appreciated.
Cheers guys.
Steve.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 08:10 AM   #308
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I have studied the output wiring diagram for the dual mono IvyIII and applied it to the dual Legato, but have become somewhat stumped on where to put the ground from pin 1 on the xlr from each side.
While the Ivy has a different board layout - I am uncertain as to which ground point to send these to on the Legato. Any ideas guys please?
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 09:38 AM   #309
NicMac is offline NicMac  Italy
diyAudio Member
 
NicMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I have noticed the same difference between the IVYIII and Legato boards i.e. there is no central header at the "output-end" of the Legato board. I guess you can connect to any of the Bal or SE ground points. They are all connected to the same ground plane anyway....
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 09:51 AM   #310
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nic,
Thanks for the reply. I had sort of assumed that it would be ok to do that, but I am trying to keep ground planes seperate in the final build - so if they are all the same point it *should* work perfectly. At my stage of learning this I just dont like making assumptions that could just as easily be incorrect.
I do wonder why the specified ground plane uses the input headers on the IvyIII diagram as opposed to the ground on the outputs used - hence my confusion.

Thanks again for the reply - it's appreciated.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legato or IVY III outputs for Buffalo II? natzev_i Twisted Pear 272 21st March 2011 08:08 PM
One for Thorens tweakers Klimon Analogue Source 2 11th October 2008 09:05 PM
Priboi tweakers ? Zen Mod Tubes / Valves 4 14th May 2007 08:22 PM
Legato link dac chip,It reads data? Raj1 Digital Source 7 25th April 2007 11:25 AM
For all T-amp tweakers filholder Class D 13 14th July 2005 08:52 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:18 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2