• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Where to begin on a PP?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all.
This is my first post.

I'm wanting to build my own tube amp from the ground up.
I'm an electrical engineering student, and I've had a couple of courses in transistor amplification, so I'm not all that scared of equivalent circuits or heavy formulas.
That said, here's my question:
I'm trying to design a good push pull output stage using a pair of 6L6s (or KT66s) in ultra linear mode, and I'm having a bit of trouble being able to analyze this and really to optimize it. Are there any good sources where I could read up on this? I'd even be willing to switch to pentode or triode operation just for the sake of being able to design it myself. I've leafed through the radiotron 4th ed. and Theory and Applications of Electron Tubes by Reich, and I've read Valve Amplifiers by Morgan Jones cover to cover, but I'm not finding them all that helpful.
Are there any amp designers in here that could help me out? I'm looking for a good graphical method, or mathematical method so that I can confirm what I'm doing. Or should I just be building this stuff in PSPICE and computer simulating it to find results? I'm just looking to be pointed in the right direction on how to design amps.
Thanks for all your help.

broadly you start at the output and work your way back to the input.

determine the power you want, the load you expect to drive.

from that you can determine the psu requirements, the transfer ratio of the transformer, etc.

from that you can determine bias and operating points, and the drive signal required.