• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Music Angel Amplifiers

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Regarding the Music Angel KT88 Amplifier, there is a version in production which has 4 bias adjust pots., (two for each channel) There is some interaction between them, but it does mean that each KT88s grid bias can be independantly adjusted. I have set them so that there is approx. 950mV on each Cathode, with the HT+(B+) line reading 415v, this beig 33watts, using the formula P divided by V x Rk, as explained by 'gingertube' in his post dated 11-02-05

Erm sorry if this departs from normal protocol but I'm too new to email you direct. I'm a newbie to the whole valve amp thing but keen to learn. I recently purchased a Music Angel KT88 which I know you're pretty knowledgable about. I've downloaded various schematics, taken pictures of the inside of mine and quite frankly don't know where to begin with tweaking/modding it. I live in Gillingham Kent and couriering it back forth to Oxford could be dear, would you be able to do schematic and mod reccomendations from photos? Happy to pay, may even be worth sending to an old pro and getting it done properly! Please contact me if you can help. :D

Music Angel XD800 KT88 Amplifier

'Valvenewbie', as you know, I have already emailed you with regard to modifying your XD800. The following may be of interest to other forum members. One of the points you raised concerns the use of ceramic valve(tube)holders, which I personally think is a good idea, along with remounting the 4 1k 'gridstopper' resistors as close to the grid pins of the KT88s as practicable, connecting them by the shortest possible leads to the