• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

JE Labs / Arnold Cruz 2A3 amp - Q

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

The need for a simple amp has become to much for me, so I decided to go for the JE Labs, simple 2A3 design. Having looked at Arnold Cruz beautiful simple design I've gor two questions regarding the curcuit (and this is probably where it becomes obvious that I'm not an electrical engineer...)

The cathode resistor in the design says 880 Ohms, but basd on previous post by Arnold I'm thinking about going for 820 instead. What confuses me is that Arnold's circuit says that the potentiometer shall be 50 Ohm, AND 50W - Does it really have to be 50 W? I've studied some other similar designs and no one says anything abut the ability to handle 50w...(for example the JE Labs one)

Am i totally at a loss here going for 820 or what's your recomendadyions? I'll most likely use Hammond 1627 and not the 125 ESE as OPT.

Cheers,
Fredrik

Hi Fredrik,

Now I'm put on the spotlight :D

Is this the amp in the DIY paradise site?

I made the JE Labs SRPP 2A3 as my first tube DIY. I still use it today, but since then converted it to the DX edition (with the 76 tubes, as I like the tone of the 76).

The easy part first-

I used a TDO 50W wirewound hum balance pots because my friend is selling them cheap... cheaper than the Clarostat (10W) that RS Components sells. I bought the Clarostat for my 45 amplifier, but ended up not using them because the center tapped filament supply of my 45 is silent enough.