• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New amplifier project -my layout

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have never built a "from scratch" tube amp before, but I have modified many. This is my initial layout for the project. As this is my first, I was looking for some input on the layout.

http://curlywoods.com/graphics/layout.gif

Attachments

• amp_layout_th.jpg
    amp_layout_th.jpg
    4.9 KB · Views: 531
From a mechanical stand point this looks fine. You have T1 on one end and the OPT on the opposite side… all good ideas.

For my personal point of view, I would limit the components on the top of the amp to T1, the OPT, and just the valves.

Is this a stereo amp or mono block?

If it’s stereo, think about building a pair of mono blocks. And if you do build mono blocks, be sure to make them symmetrical!

Seeing as there's only one OPT, I'd venture a guess that this is a monoblock :dodgy: . I like the layout but the one recommendation I have is that you leave more elbow room around those KT88's, preferably at least 1" between the glass envelopes and other things, and maybe 1.5" to 2" between the two tubes... otherwise, heat might become a problem. Good luck! Got a schematic for us btw? I like the use of two chokes :)

Curly,

If I were to nitpick I might recommend seeing if you can move the input/preamp tubes away from the power supply. Better to have your high-signal output stage closer to the PS.

That said, if you are careful with dressing especially AC heater wires your layout would work fine I think.

Thanks guys

Thanks to all for your input.

It is a mono design :)