• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Newbie building d3A DRD 300B

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi to you all! My first appearance on this forum.

Just decided to challange myself and go ahead and try to build a d3A DRD 300B just like ligascon and Kofi Annan. I have no prior experience and no technical education. I'm a lawyer and project manager who has been infected by the hifi-virus since 20 years. Used to play the violin when I was younger and love music of all kinds. Just bought a pair of Oris Reference Basic 200 hornspeakers with AER MD2 fullrange drivers so I think this is the way to go. I have a friend who is an electronics engineer who can help me when it's needed but he's not an audiophile so he will only be able to help me with practical (how to solder properly etc)and general electronics questions.

Like ligascon I will go for Lundahl transformers (as I live in Sweden)and TJ Fullmusic 300B meshplates. I have a few questions about component selection and I'm sure I will come back with a lot more questions along the way so please be patient.

1. Ligascon used ElectraPrint 1.5A filament chokes (I have no clue what it means but the point with this project is to learn the hard way) and I wonder if there is an alternative or is it worth the time and the money to go for these?

2. The "Common mode 2A", what shall I choose?

3. Other components? I want excellent match and quality without spending ridiculous amounts of money. Europen manufacturers are prefered because deliveryy time and shipping costs will be lower. If what you think is the best available components are resonable in price level please suggest these components.