Amplifier identification - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th November 2006, 03:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Amplifier identification

Hello everyone,

This is my first time on the forum, so I thought I'd take the chance to try and find out something about this amplifier I've had sitting around for a few years. I'm from a small town in eastern Canada which was also an American base some years ago. When the base closed and my grandfather was in charge of converting the buildings for use by the town, he found this amplifier (among other equipment) abandoned in a hanger, missing three of the output tubes and a cover. I'd love to find out more about the amp - it is currently working, unchanged from how my dad left it after he shelved it. The output tubes are 7189A (as far as I can tell, there have been several sets broken in the amp by falling objects, according to my father). Rectifier is 5AR4 (from memory), and there are a few 12AX7's scattered throughout the chassis. Unfortunately, this is all from memory - the amp is still at home right now. If I could find a schematic (to reverse the many 'fixes' applied before it was found) or a photo of a unit in better condition (I'm missing most of the lettering on mine) that would be great. Google has turned up little so far, but I may just be searching wrong. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg amp-bell-01.jpg (98.2 KB, 140 views)
Old 10th November 2006, 04:19 PM   #2
diyAudio Member