• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Please help out a Noobie...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone,

I am in the process of designing my first tube amp(Yea, I am new to all this stuff). I have decided that it has to be a simple SE design. However I need to drive a pair of Bass Reflex cabs with hempacoustics full range driver with a 94dB sensitivity. I like to listen to music at approximately 84dBSPL @ 1m. How much power do you think I will need from the amplifier to achieve my listening levels? As you can see power is a concern and I am not very familiar with Push-Pull designs so I cannot consider them.

I was thinking about using a 6SN7 driver stage with a EL34 power stage (triode mode), since they can put out a decent amount of power.
My second question is do I need to strap both g2 and g3 to the anode?If so are they connected in parallel to the anode? In the Phillips data sheet it says that g2 has to be connected to anode but it doesn't say anything about g3. Also, which plate curves should I be looking at if I want to use this tube in Triode? The curve sheet I have are for Vg2=250V Vg3=0V. Is there any links where I could find the required plate curve sheets? I am confused about the g2 and g3 and am not too sure about how to go about triode strapping them and what data I need to look at to operate the EL34 in Triode mode.

I know these are a lot of questions and I would greatly appreciate it if someone could help me out. Being where I am, there is practically nobody who I could turn to for help and guidance which is why I think DIYAUDIO is the coolest thing ever!

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2004