Rogers Cadet III Power problem ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st November 2006, 03:44 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Rogers Cadet III Power problem ?

My amp began to smell of burning today, the 470 ohm resistor in the power line was obviously very hot and discoloured. There was also a distinct hum which I've never had problems with before.

Being new to Tube Amps could someone kindly point me in the right direction ?

(I have some electrical background).

Thanks in anticipation.
Old 1st November 2006, 06:47 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi Stephen,

Without being there or seeing a schematic, I can only give you the basics of what to look for in general order of preference. And I assume you mean a 470 ohm resistor in the B+ supply line. Not the AC mains.

1) Bad tubes, especially the output tubes.

2) Leaky coupling capacitors at the grid of the output tubes causing lowered bias and excessive current through the tube. (assuming you have fixed bias) Look for signs of tube overheating like a plate turning dull red.

3) Failing negative bias supply causing the same condition.

4) Leaky/failing power supply filter capacitors draging down the voltage level.

Hope this helps.

Victor
Old 1st November 2006, 07:45 PM   #3
EC8010 is offline EC8010  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

It's most likely to be leaky electrolytic capacitors. I refurbished a Cadet III a couple of years ago and after the first five electrolytics tested faulty when removed, I replaced the lot without wasting any more time in testing.
Old 3rd November 2006, 07:48 AM   #4
diyAudio Member