transmitter tube amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th October 2006, 06:24 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default transmitter tube amp

I am new to the audio hobby. Anyone have experience with type 813 tubes in audio application?

I constructed the following breadboard and it sounds good so far.

813 output tubes in push pull
ultralinear taps at 40%
custom output transformer, 3" stack EI-1 3/4, interleaved windings 4section primary, 5 section secondary (one week to design and wind.) .010 Nomex between sections. .005 Nomex between layers. Soleniod wound using an engine lathe with wire tensioning control.
815 phase inverter and driver tubes
Goal: 100 watts rms class A, 200w class AB

So far, I am running 600v on the plate, (final design is for 1200 or more. ) I use a SMPS for the filaments and it works very well in addition to being light weight. I am designing a SMPS for the plate supply also, so that the finished mono block will be movable without a fork lift.

I use no cathode bypass caps. I have tried a little negative feedback, but no improvement over already good sound.

Providing I don't electrocute myself, I will report future developments. Anyone here ever work with this tube?
Old 26th October 2006, 07:06 AM   #2
Gluca is offline Gluca  Italy
diyAudio Member

me ... se parafeed 900V@100mA, DC (current regulated) heated and I use forklift to move it.

I am going to upgrade it one day (100TH ccs loaded as driver + step down intestage tranny).

I luv the light and sound.

Ciao
Gianluca
Old 26th October 2006, 02:13 PM   #3
7N7 is offline 7N7  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

When I was building, I spent a lot of time with 813.