• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Shuguang 807s?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all,

Just wondering if anyone's had any experience with the Shuguang 807 in audio applications out there? If so I would like to hear about it. Wondering how they sound and if they're reliable. I've had some less-than-wonderful experience with Chinese 6146s in radio stuff recently. Would rather not repeat that experience.

Thanks in advance.

I can't speak for the Shuguang 807's. The US 807 is derived from the 6L6GB. If Shuguang adopted the western philosophy of stuffing the same guts into a few different bottles, then you could be in luck.

I have been experimenting with the Shuguang "Coke Bottle 6L6GC" and the tubular 6L6GCR, which appear to be the same guts inside different shaped glass. These tubes sound good in audio application, and stand up to serious abuse without any problem. I have been operating a pair, that previously served duty in a Bandmaster, in an SE amplifier at 35 watts plate dissipation (dull glow in dark room) to test their reliability. These tubes have been going strong for over a year at this power level without issue. I have cranked this pair to 44 watts dissipation for an hour (serious plate glow) without failure. I have recently tested 6 more pair at the 35 watt level for about an hour each without issue.

If their 807 is made with the same guts they should be indestructible at 807 power levels (19 watts). I looked at the picture, and it looks the same as their 6L6GCR.