• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

LX-72A Sanity Check for Noooobie?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First, thanks to all that have helped me out so far...

I'm new at this so please forgive me if I butcher any terms, seem to have things confused or in general, appear to be an idiot.

You may recall that I am hoping to restore Dad's scott amp and after replacing the selenium rectifier with a radio sh*ck 4a 400v, the the heaters started glowing in the 12ax7's. I have two good 7591's so with them running the right channel I started to do some measurements. CD player in gives me sound, no audible distortion, just a slight hum at 0 volume. Tone controls for right channel working fine, volume control is little scratchy. <smile>

I do have replacement caps on the way including a couple JJ cans.

I'm hoping that if I provide some numbers, you could take a quick look and point out anything that is just not right.

I added a 10ohm resistor in series (before R210) for the new bridge rectifier to bring the voltage down a bit as I was getting -46.5 and the schematic shows -45 (see detail below). It is now putting out -44.6 and this potential is showing at pin4 (heater) of the first 12ax7 and the the center of the pots for the 7591's. Pin 5 (heater) is reading -33.4.

The transformer is delivering 6.86vac directly to the heater (pins 2,7) of the first 7591. This is supposed to be 6.3vac?

I'm getting 462v after the 33ohm 10w (R206) instead of 425. After R205 316; R204 274; R203 261; and after R202 I'm reading 160vdc.

453 is the plate voltage on both 7591's while G2 (pins 4, 8) are at 414.