• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

best amp for rock n roll

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
good day

as a newbie, i am investigating the web for two month,
looking for informations about tubes after listening a wonderful one of my friend's 300B se amp.

i m right now decided to build a amp
with some requirements:

- i want to listen mainly rock, reggae, soul, pop, a bit of classic and a bit of blues

- DHT (my first experience as a tube listener)
- 8 or 9 watt of power (i want also to build more efficients speakers (93-95 dB) than mine
a maximum budget of 1100 euros

- i would like to know your own experience about tube and their technology

my main choice is 300B SE but is it a viable choice (specially for bass)???
and you?

- i red some threads about converting mono psu to power psu, about the power supply, i thought that just doubling the current was enough (and improving the filtering)? i would appreciate every suggestion about that

Thank you

Julien

Hi Julien,
maybe a 300b as first attempt is not an easy thing? (depends on your skills).
Have you listen some other topologies, tubes ? (thinking about bass...)

For me, more efficients speakers are allways better. (especially for little power tube amps)

Sinon, je comprends pas ta dernière question !? pour le prix ca devrait etre faisable, mais, as-tu les outils ?

PP has better bass. But I say build what you want, including the links posted here. It's the speakers you should bother about.

SET fans tend to be full-range fans. But there's nothing that says you have to use FR with a SET. For the 7-8W 300B you should go 96db or higher. 93db may very well be enough. But I wouldn't settle for less than 96.