Newcomer, where to start? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th October 2006, 06:36 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Newcomer, where to start?

Well, I am not a total newbie, but it would be the first time I work with tube amps. I have worked with other solid state designs, and this time I would like to try something new with tubes.

What I want to build is a simple power amplifier for a pair of bookshelf speakers. Don't need a lot of power, so 10W is about enough. It can be a pair of monoblocks. Is there any design that I can get a hand on with these requirements? What tube is a good place to start off from? EL34?

Thanks in advance,
Peter
Old 10th October 2006, 07:01 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

When I was adviced about a newbe project Claus Byriths projects where recommended. 8W SE design
I am building his 30W pp amp, going on 1/2 year now.
Old 10th October 2006, 07:15 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi Peter Pan

You make a big chance to receive lots of replies, so much that you will feel dizzy choosing one among them.

I am working (parallel at least another 5 projects...) on the baby huey, a design by Gingertube. It uses EL84 and puts out about 10W
EL84 Amp - Baby Huey

May I recommend a good book? Valve amplifiers, third edition by Morgan Jones

Good luck

Erik
Old 10th October 2006, 07:39 AM   #4
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
What tube is a good place to start off from? EL34?